## **Board Work Session Minutes**

DATE: January 7, 2019

**PRESENT:** Chair Anna Barrett Smith, Vice Chair Betsy Flanagan, Amy Cole, Tracy Everette-Lenz, Melinda Fagundus, Worth Forbes, Benjie Forrest, Mary Blount Williams, and Caroline W. Doherty

**ALSO PRESENT:** Dr. Ethan Lenker, Debra Baggett, Jennifer L. Johnson, Matt Johnson, Aaron Errickson, and Media

IN-HOUSE COUNSEL: Emma J. Hodson

**TIME:** 5:30 P.M.

**PLACE:** 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Boardroom, Pitt County Office Building, 1717 West 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Greenville, NC 27834

A) Chair Smith called the Board of Education Work Session to order at 5:30 P.M.

## 1) Capital Projects Priority List

Dr. Ethan Lenker, Superintendent, led the Board members in a discussion to develop a Capital Projects Priority List. Dr. Lenker shared a list that was created after he and Aaron Errickson, Director of Facilities, met with Scott Elliott the County manager to discuss what the Commissioners wanted included in the Capital Priority list. Much discussion occurred between Matt Johnson, Assistant Superintendent of Operations, Dr. Lenker, Mr. Erickson and the Board members. The following list received consensus from the entire Board to be added to tonight's Consent Agenda.

Item Description	Estimated Cost
A.G. Cox Middle 1936 Wing Replacement 1958 Renovation & 6 CR Add	\$10,000,000.00
Falkland Multi-Purpose Room Floor Repair	\$200,000.00
School Bus Camera Systems All Buses	\$1,519,000.00
Upgrade Camera Systems to IP All Schools	\$1,266,074.00
Fire Alarm Upgrades 4 Schools	\$385,000.00
EB Aycock Complete HVAC Upgrade	\$600,000.00
C.M. Eppes New HVAC System	\$650,000.00
Wahl Coates Electrical Service Upgrade	\$300,000.00
Wahl Coates New HVAC System	\$325,000.00
Wellcome Electrical Service Upgrade	\$428,000.00
Generators (GES, GRW, JHR, FS)	\$425,000.00
Total Capital Funding Request	\$16,098,074.00

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin

o) <u>Aajourn</u>		
The Board Work Session adjourned at 5:58 P.M.		
The Board work bession adjustmed at 5.50 1.3w.		
	D (C 11 O 1 ) (1 1	
	Respectfully Submitted,	
	A source De moneté Consièle Classico	
	Anna Barrett Smith, Chair	
	D. D. D. L. L. L. C	
	Dr. Ethan Lenker, Secretary	

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin